Conan comes out swingin’ over schedule

Because I have late-night eyes for only Jon Stewart and Stephen Colbert, I almost feel like my opinion doesn’t count. It’s like I’m endorsing a candidate without voting.

But I admire how Conan O’Brien, the for-now host of The Tonight Show, is not taking NBC’s plans to restore Jay Leno lying down. He is taking swings, both on the show and off it. His best point:

“After only seven months, with my ‘Tonight Show’ in its infancy, NBC has decided to react to its terrible difficulties in prime-time by making a change in its long-established late-night schedule.”

You’ve heard the story by now; you don’t need me to repeat it. What I don’t understand is how NBC hasn’t made the connection between Jay Leno and low ratings. The Chin just isn’t very funny to me, whether he’s in primetime or late night. The only time I’ve watched him is during a recent interview with Saints quarterback Drew Brees (he easily outshined Leno, by the way).

I agree with Scott Meeker, he of the zombie-apocalypse survival: NBC already jobbed Letterman for Leno’s sake, and now they are going to job O’Brien. All for the sake of a bad comedian who just isn’t funny.

Tagged , ,

You know you wanna say it...

