Beware balsamic: Too much kills tri tips

Because of the new Enjoy section, I’m back to a Monday through Friday schedule at the Globe. This means the return of our family’s Grilling Sundays.

Last week was easy enough: I grilled some flat iron steaks and some beef sausage. Nothing too exotic. Last Saturday, I found some tri tip steaks on sale at Price Cutter that looked good for marinating, and I had been wanting to play with a garlic balsamic marinade recipe, so I scooped them up.

The recipe was a simple yet incredible mix of olive oil, garlic, balsamic and pepper. Because I can’t leave well enough alone, I threw in extra balsamic, garlic and crushed rosemary, and marinated the steaks for about 20 hours.

The net result was a tangy, tangy steak that completely overpowered the garlic. That stunk, because I grilled the tri tips PERFECTLY. Tri tips come from the more flavorful sirloins, but because those tend to be not as tender, they are best at a medium rare. The texture of Sunday’s tri tips was perfect. Too bad the taste was too strong.

Don’t get me wrong: I woofed my helping down, each bite with some roasted golden potatoes and pesto broccoli. I also cooked the steaks with some burgers on the grill at the same time. Next time, I’ll go heavy on the garlic but scale back the balsamic. I’ll also leave in the rosemary, but I’m not sure it did so much. Also, I’m really curious how flat irons will respond to marinating.

Tagged , , , , ,

You know you wanna say it...

