Man gene on overload: Mower fixed

The picture to the left is my interpretation of what $100 looks like.

It’s a diaphragm and gasket for the carburetor of a Briggs & Stratton lawnmower engine. It rests on top of the gas tank and below the carburetor; it regulates how much gas and air get into the engine. Installing in requires removal of both the carburetor and gas tank, as well as disconnecting a fuel line from the engine.

But I did all of that. I could have paid one of Joplin’s fine businesses about $100 or more to do that. Instead, I paid about $3 for the parts and fixed it myself.

This geek’s man gene is on overload. I’m thinking about changing my own oil on the truck now. I probably won’t.

See, geeks pride themselves on ELECTRICAL mastery; the smaller the better. Combustion engines don’t really qualify as geeky — too noisy, too inelegant, too inefficient. Mulching mowers come close to getting a geek’s interest, but only because they accomplish two tasks (cut grass, fertilize lawn) and eliminate a third (bag clippings).

But my mulching mower was in bad shape. So bad that the grass at Geek Central, located near the seemingly inaccurately named Gabby Street Boulevard, was nasty thick and might-get-a-ticket tall.

I gotta tell you, I pulled a lot of joy out of working on my engine. I knew what I was doing thanks to this YouTube video by user craig1974:

Mower works well. Cut through the forest in my yard. I am MAN. Yep.

Tagged , , , ,

You know you wanna say it...

