Cherry rub turns steak into meat candy: Nom

Sweet mercy, this stuff works well on steak. Turned it into meat candy. I wish it had a saltier flavor, but this rub worked its way well into a flat iron steak. The cherry flavor perfectly enhanced the beef, and gave it a good lookin’ and tasty crust.

I picked this up at Steve’s Fireplaces and Barbecue about a month ago, during one of those rare times that the store was actually open (dude keeps the store open only six hours a day.) After talking with Steve, it was clear that he didn’t want to say he hadn’t tried putting the cherry rub on steak. Instead, he said that the John Henry line was one of the ones used the most by competitive barbecue chefs.

I can see why. The cherry rub worked on steak and a butter pecan rub punched well into some chicken breasts I grilled tonight. Usually I have to marinade chicken breasts to get them to stay moist. Fortunately, my fire wasn’t very hot, so the breasts slow-roasted pretty well and let the rub do its work.

I measure barbecue success by how The Lovely Paula’s eyes glaze over, and I got an OK glaze with the chicken. The steak beat the chicken in glazes tonight.

Here’s a pro tip: I use a spoon to rub on rubs. While many dredge or use their fingers to apply a rub, I use a spoon because I hate wasting my flavor. It packs the rub onto the meat better, which means a better crust when it hits the grill.

3 thoughts on “Cherry rub turns steak into meat candy: Nom

  1. You really should come to Nashville and enter the bbq cookoff!

  2. […] The tartness of the blueberries mixed perfectly with the steaks. Instead of becoming a meat candy like the cherry rub, the strong flavor of the meat was enhanced by the blueberry’s subtle sweetness. That sauce […]

  3. Arden says:

    certainly like your web-site however you need to check the spelling
    on several of your posts. Many of them are rife with spelling
    problems and I find it very bothersome to inform the reality on the other hand I will definitely come
    back again.

You know you wanna say it...

