Blueberry sauce makes steaks taste incredible

Check out that beauty. That flat iron steak is topped with a blueberry sauce I found at Forays into Foodiedom; click that link and give ’em some love. Oh man, was that stuff good. The tartness of the blueberries mixed perfectly with the steaks. Instead of becoming a meat candy like the cherry rub, the strong flavor of the meat was enhanced by the blueberry’s subtle sweetness. That sauce brings out the best in the fruit’s sweetness without getting candy-like — all the ingredients back off for the blueberry and bring it out.

Blueberries are one of my lifelong favorite foods. When I was a kid, I always wanted a blueberry pie instead of a birthday cake. My grandmother, Bammy, always made a red, white and blue pie for holidays. You can imagine how vindicated I felt when, as an adult, I found out that blueberries are the Superman of foods.

Back to the steaks, I made some tweaks to the recipe:

  • I used red cooking wine instead of just red wine. The taste of wine is wasted on me, so I figured I was OK with the rough stuff. I also didn’t wanna open the only bottle of red wine we have in the house.
  • I used rosemary leaves instead of the finer stuff. Next time, I’ll try crushing it up.
  • Instead of cooking sirloins in the same frying pan, I grilled flat irons (seasoned with only salt and peppercorns) and dolloped sauce on top. There was plenty to spread around.

The blueberry abundance in this area is apparent in the produce section. The berries are huge and fresh, and actually pretty cheap (I found an 18-ounce carton at Food 4 Less for less than $3. Yes, the same Food 4 Less I dogged for having expensive flat irons. Win some, lose some.)

In other words, there’s plenty available for standard blueberry stuff, such as muffins and pies. There are also plenty for trying new things such as slathering steaks with ’em. Nom.

My next mission: Combining blueberries and bacon. It has to have been done before; if not, I’ll be a pioneer. I’ll do that for y’all. I consider it a public service.

Tagged , , , , ,

One thought on “Blueberry sauce makes steaks taste incredible

  1. Lyle Borders says:

    My wife does an AMAZING pear, goat cheese, and bacon tart. So freaking good. Maybe it will yield inspiration on your quest to combine the best fruit in existence with the best food in existence.

    http://mlborders.blogspot.com/2011/07/my-love-for-bacon-and-pearsyes-in-same.html

You know you wanna say it...

